a poem for you.

I want to write for you,
so much so, I was
penning the words from
my bed and had to wake
to write them down.

When you are the topic,
lyric is all that’s appropriate.

::

Remember how we looked
into each other’s eyes
that first night?
Sitting on that street bench
till 3 am, sharing stories
and laughing,
timidly touching hands
and hoping for the future.

The future collided with us,
fast like a train
taking us to places we
didn’t know we were going.

And now we are here.

It feels to me like
the cusp of something new,
and I don’t know if
I’m just being romantic
or if I’m hearing sighs
of truth.

::

You laid on that blue couch and
I spoke from my heart,
and like so many times,
I cried.

This is nothing new.

But God did something,
perhaps if only in me,
and I feel different and
full and ready.

I want to see you
the way He means for me to.
I want to be your crown of jewels,
your lily, your pile of rubies.

I want to look in the distance
and see no one but you.

::

There are few times
that I understand why
I was made as I am,
few times where I
feel chosen and special,
as if His whispers contain
life itself and are
for me only.

But this moment,
I will entertain that notion
and hope for another.

3 thoughts on “a poem for you.

Leave a Reply

